INNOVATIONS ISLANDS

>

Linux Professional Institute

Workshop – FreedomBox

Saturday November 6, 2021 – 13:00 to 17:00

This workshop will guide you on the installation and setup of a personal FreedomBox Internet server that is suitable for supporting one person or a community of people.

In addition to helping campuseros in setting up the basic FreedomBox software, as time allows we will be helping to install some of the useful functionality inside of FreedomBox and additional functionality that can not really be distributed preconfigured with the distribution.

FreedomBox can be set up on a variety of hardware and operating system scenarios but a lot of people buy a single board computer such as the official FreedomBox Pioneer from Olimex, a company in Bulgaria that specializes in Open Hardware and is an official partner of FreedomBox, a 501(c)3 non-profit. The FreedomBox Pioneer comes in different plug types, but the one recommended for Campus Party Canada is the FreedomBox Pioneer with the two flat prong plug. As an option you can add a drive bay with a 2.5” SATA HDD or SSD up to two TB in size, or just buy the “Drive Bay” and add your own 2.5” SATA device.

Olimex is very fast in handling orders and shipping. Items ordered from them have been received in a week or less in the USA. YMMV.

I will be adding more information about the workshop and the FreedomBox in my Blog at Linux Pro Magazine as we get closer to Campus Party Canada.

Register

Buy your tickets here

Linux Professional Institute will present this workshop on FreedomBox, a secure, private home server for personal or community use that could plug into your wall. You can run a web server, your own NAS, set up VPN and TOR services among other services All source code available, no binary blobs.

S’identifier

Un profil, plusieurs possibilités. Essayez nos plateformes verticales.

Créer votre compte pour accéder à l'Experience CP Canada virtuelle (gratuite)

Un profil, plusieurs possibilités. Essayez nos plateformes verticales.

Sign in

One profile, several possibilities. Try our vertical platforms.

Create your account to access the virtual CP Canada Experience (free)

One profile, several possibilities. Try our vertical platforms.

INNOVATIONS ISLANDS

>

Linux Professional Institute

Atelier – FreedomBox

Cet atelier vous guidera dans l’installation et la configuration d’un serveur Internet FreedomBox personnel, adapté au soutien d’une personne ou d’une communauté de personnes.

En plus d’aider les campeurs à configurer le logiciel FreedomBox de base, nous les aiderons, si le temps le permet, à installer certaines des fonctionnalités utiles de FreedomBox et des fonctionnalités supplémentaires qui ne peuvent pas vraiment être distribuées préconfigurées avec la distribution.

FreedomBox peut être installé sur une variété de matériel et de systèmes d’exploitation, mais beaucoup de gens achètent un ordinateur monocarte tel que le FreedomBox Pioneer officiel d’Olimex, une entreprise bulgare spécialisée dans le matériel ouvert et partenaire officiel de FreedomBox, une organisation à but non lucratif 501(c)3. La FreedomBox Pioneer est disponible avec différents types de prises, mais celle qui est recommandée pour Campus Party Canada est la FreedomBox Pioneer avec la prise à deux broches plates. En option, vous pouvez ajouter une baie de disque avec un disque dur SATA 2,5″ ou un disque SSD d’une taille maximale de 2 To, ou simplement acheter la “baie de disque” et ajouter votre propre dispositif SATA 2,5″.

Olimex est très rapide dans le traitement des commandes et l’expédition. Les articles commandés chez eux ont été reçus en une semaine ou moins aux Etats-Unis. YMMV.

J’ajouterai plus d’informations sur l’atelier et la FreedomBox dans mon blog sur Linux Pro Magazine à mesure que nous nous rapprocherons de Campus Party Canada.

Inscrivez-vous

Achetez vos billets ici

Linux Professional Institute présentera cet atelier sur FreedomBox, un serveur domestique privé et sécurisé à usage personnel ou communautaire qui pourrait être branché à votre mur. Vous pouvez faire tourner un serveur web, votre propre NAS, mettre en place des services VPN et TOR.

S’identifier

Un profil, plusieurs possibilités. Essayez nos plateformes verticales.

Créer votre compte pour accéder à l'Experience CP Canada virtuelle (gratuite)

Un profil, plusieurs possibilités. Essayez nos plateformes verticales.